RSS

My Hen Renni

30 Apr
My Hen Renni

I get a little misty, now and then,
When I think about Renni,
My pet hen.

A polish crested chicken,
She was smart and sweet,
Asking only for love,
And some mealworms to eat,
And a warm arm to nap on
Every now and then.
That was sweet Renni,
My pet hen.

She was never a layer of eggs,
like the rest,
She was meant to win ribbons,
The best of the best.
But alas, she won none,
For her life was cut short
By a freak duck stampede,
I must sadly report.

Yes, poor Renni has perished,
Her life left incomplete,
By the cruel hand of fate,
And 500 webbed feet.

This poem is my tribute,
So I raise up my pen
In remembrance of Renni,
My pet hen.

20140430-075643.jpg

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2014 in Poetry

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “My Hen Renni

  1. thehappyhugger

    April 30, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    Love your poem, Thank you for the entry.

     
  2. Xina Marie Uhl

    May 1, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    Henni is simply beautiful and I love your poem! Bittersweet, touching and amusing all at once. I saw quite the youtube video of a duck stampede once and they are not to be trifled with!

     
    • seventhself

      May 2, 2014 at 12:05 am

      Thank you. It was a new farmhand that put Renni into the duck enclosure last winter because there was a heat lamp in it for the several honored new ducklings that had arrived. He didn’t know that chickens enjoy cold weather and that Renni was perfectly fine where she was. It really broke my heart to find her trampled in there, so much so that this year I quit the poultry business completely.

      Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed my little poem. You made my day.

       

Leave a Reply

 
